Noff vs Bloom: your tag, not a $39 card

Noff and Bloom both put a physical object between you and the apps. Bloom sells the object. The card is $39, the pod is $59, and the set is $69, in US dollars on Bloom's site, with no euro price stated. Noff sells the app: €9.99 once, no subscription, and the object is any NFC tag you already trust, sticker, card or keychain. If you want iPhone, Spanish or Catalan, and the App Store label Data Not Collected, Noff fits better. Bloom is the better fit if you need Android, a finished metal card, or the schedules and child mode Noff's pages do not list. Prices were checked on 28 October 2026 and can change.

Get Noff on the App Store

Updated 7 min readAlso in EspañolCatalà
On this page

The short answer

  • Choose Noff if you have an iPhone on iOS 16 or later, you want to bring your own tag, and you want €9.99 once, no subscription, in English, Spanish or Catalan.
  • Choose Bloom if you want Bloom's own card or pod, Android as well as iPhone, or schedules, breaks and a parent card for a child's phone.

Noff vs Bloom at a glance

BloomNoff
What you payCard $39, pod $59, set $69. US dollars only on the site. The purchase includes lifetime access to every app feature. No subscription€9.99 once, no subscription
HardwareBloom Card or Pod. No battery. Your own NFC tag is not stated as compatibleAny compatible NFC sticker, card or keychain
Start without the objectActivate Focus in the app starts a session without the cardYou pair a tag. There is no separate branded object
PlatformsiPhone and Android. Android minimum is not statediPhone only. No Android, no Mac
Minimum OSiOS 17.6 or lateriOS 16 or later
What it blocksApps and websites. Calls, texts and maps stay available. Adult content, in-app purchases and app installs can be blocked on iOSApps, categories and websites. Those extra Bloom blocks are not listed
SchedulesSessions can start and stop on a schedule. 5-minute breaksNo schedules or time limits are listed. Sessions are Infinite, 30 min, 1 h or 2 h
Emergency exits3 up front, plus one more every month3 per month, plus 24-hour Recovery if the tag is missing mid-session
Lost objectReplacement price and process are not statedPair a spare tag from Settings when no session is active
Privacy labelContact info and usage data linked to youData Not Collected
LanguagesEnglish and JapaneseEnglish, Spanish and Catalan
AccountThe pod pairs with the same app and account. Whether an account is required is not statedNo account

The emergency counts are close. Bloom gives three exits up front and one more each month. Noff gives three each month. Neither is a clear advantage.

Where Noff is better

You are not buying Bloom's card to block Instagram. Bloom's product page lists $39, $59 and $69, and it does not list euros. Orders outside the United States can face import duties. Shipping is included on orders over $75, and international shipping is included when you buy three or more cards. Noff is €9.99 once, no subscription, the price on noff.app. This page does not state a dollar price for Noff. You still need a tag. Noff names NTAG213, 215 and 216 as safe choices. Bloom's pages do not state that a generic NFC tag works with the app.

The phone can be older. Noff needs iOS 16 or later. Bloom needs iOS 17.6 or later. The language list is the other practical gap: Noff is English, Spanish and Catalan. Bloom's App Store listing is English and Japanese.

Privacy labels do not match. Noff's listing says Data Not Collected, the app does not require an account, and the core flow works offline. Bloom's listing links contact info and usage data to you. The same listing says screen time data stays on the device and is never shared or stored elsewhere. Both lines are Bloom's. The pod "pairs with the same Bloom app and account", so an account exists. Whether you must create one is not stated.

If the tag disappears, Noff is explicit. No session: pair a new tag in Settings. Session running: Recovery waits 24 hours and cannot be skipped, and the optional deletion and install safeguards stay on through that wait and through emergency pauses. Bloom gives the emergency exits above. How you buy a replacement card is not stated.

Noff's pages do not list schedules. The work is a Focus session and a tag, not a calendar of blocks.

Where Bloom is better

Bloom is a real object with a return policy. Stainless-steel card or magnetic pod, no battery, 30-day money-back guarantee. You pay the return shipping. Students save 20%. In the US it is HSA/FSA eligible. The site says it is trusted by 50,000+ people. The rating base on the App Store is much larger than Noff's. Noff's US listing has not received enough ratings to show an average, and the Spanish listing has only a few.

The feature list is wider. Schedules that start and stop sessions, 5-minute breaks, website blocking, and on iOS a block on adult content, in-app purchases and app installs. Calls, texts and maps stay available. There is a leaderboard and a child mode, where the parent's card unlocks the child's phone. Strict mode can prevent deleting the app during a session. By default, deleting Bloom unblocks everything unless that mode is on. You can also start a session with Activate Focus and no card in your hand. Noff does not document an equivalent "start with no tag" button, and it does not document child mode, breaks or a leaderboard.

Android is supported. The minimum Android version is not stated. Noff is iPhone only.

How to start with Noff

  1. Skip the card order if all you needed was the tap. Get a compatible tag. NTAG213, 215 and 216 are safe choices. See recommended NFC tags.
  2. Install Noff, allow Screen Time, and pair the tag.
  3. Choose apps, categories or websites, start a session, and leave the tag where you have to stand up.
  4. Stop using Bloom's session on that phone once Noff covers the same apps, so the two blocks are not stacked.

Setup in detail: how to block apps on iPhone with an NFC tag. The other comparisons: Noff vs Brick, Noff vs Opal, Noff vs one sec.

FAQ

Can I tap a normal NFC sticker on Bloom?

Bloom's pages do not say that a non-Bloom tag works. They describe the Bloom card and the pod. Noff is built for compatible NFC stickers, cards and keychains.

Is Noff cheaper than the Bloom card?

On 28 October 2026 the card is $39, the pod $59 and the set $69, in US dollars, with no euro price on the site. Noff is €9.99 once, no subscription. Prices can change. You still need your own tag for Noff.

What if I lose the card or the tag?

Bloom gives three emergency exits and one more each month. A replacement price is not stated. Noff gives three emergency unlocks a month. With no session active you pair a spare tag from Settings. With a session active, Recovery waits 24 hours.

Does Bloom speak Spanish or Catalan?

The App Store listing is English and Japanese. Noff is English, Spanish and Catalan.

Which one has the better emergency exit?

Neither, on the published numbers. Bloom: three up front, then one a month. Noff: three a month. The doors are different. The counts are not a win for either side.

Sources

Checked 28 October 2026. Prices can change. - Bloom home (card, Android, blocks, strict mode, emergency exits, languages of the product story): bloom.inc - Prices, guarantee, shipping, students, pod and account: product page - App Store listing (iOS 17.6, English and Japanese, privacy label, no in-app purchases section): https://apps.apple.com/us/app/bloom-conquer-screen-time/id6736728158 and https://apps.apple.com/es/app/bloom-conquer-screen-time/id6736728158 - Noff: https://noff.app/ and https://noff.app/privacy - Noff App Store listing: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/noff/id6759967974 and https://apps.apple.com/es/app/noff/id6759967974

Block apps with an NFC tag