Noff vs one sec: a tag you tap, not a pause
Noff and one sec interrupt a reach for an app, and then they stop being the same product. one sec adds a delay before a distracting app opens: a breath, a mirror, a short reflection. It can also block apps outright, including a strict block you cannot pause. Noff blocks with Apple's Screen Time and stays blocked until you tap the NFC tag you paired. That tag works today. one sec's NFC lock is a roadmap request marked In Progress, not a feature on the site or the App Store listing as checked on 28 October 2026. Noff is €9.99 once, no subscription. one sec's lifetime price on the Spanish store is €99.99. Prices can change.
On this page
The short answer
- Choose Noff if you want the apps to stay blocked until you walk to a tag, on iPhone, for €9.99 once, no subscription.
- Choose one sec if you want a pause before the app opens, you want Android, Mac or a browser as well, or a yearly pro plan is enough and you do not need a physical key.
Noff vs one sec at a glance
| one sec | Noff | |
|---|---|---|
| What it does | A pause before the app opens. Full blocks exist, including a strict block | Blocks apps until you tap your NFC tag |
| NFC | On the roadmap only, status In Progress. Not released on the pages read | Any compatible NFC tag, today |
| Hardware | None sold or required | A sticker, card or keychain you choose |
| What you pay | A basic plan you don't pay for, for one app. Pro lifetime €99.99 on the Spanish store | €9.99 once, no subscription |
| Platforms | iPhone, iPad, Android, Mac, and browser extensions | iPhone only. No Android, no Mac |
| Minimum OS | iOS 15 or later. Android minimum is not stated | iOS 16 or later |
| Schedules | Manual blocks, recurring blocks, Focus filters, Shortcuts | No schedules or time limits are listed |
| Emergency exit from a strict block | Not stated on one sec's official pages | 3 emergency unlocks per month, plus 24-hour Recovery |
| Privacy label | Usage data not linked to you. No tracking section | Data Not Collected |
| Account | The same account for Pro across devices. Whether the basic plan needs an account is not stated | No account |
| Languages | 31 codes on the Spanish listing, including Spanish and Catalan. The site says 30 | English, Spanish and Catalan |
Where Noff is better
The mechanism is the point of the page. one sec's homepage shows this user review: "Strict blockers never worked: I just turned them off. The forced pause is critical to be able to consciously make the choice though." Noff is the strict physical version: the session stays on until the tag is tapped. If you already know you will talk yourself through a breathing screen, the tag in another room is the product that matches that.
NFC is not a tie. one sec's public roadmap has a request, dated 9 May 2025, to lock and unlock with NFC. The team's comment says the goal is to make it work with every NFC tag or QR code. The status is In Progress. Nothing on the homepage, the FAQ or the App Store listing describes an NFC step you can use now. Noff's current unlock is the tag. NTAG213, 215 and 216 are safe choices. If you lose it with no session running, you pair another from Settings. If a session is running, Recovery waits 24 hours and cannot be skipped. You get 3 emergency unlocks a month. one sec's pages do not state an emergency unlock for strict blocks.
Price, for a one-time buy on iPhone, sits far apart. Noff is €9.99 once, no subscription. No US dollar price is stated on noff.app, so this page does not give one. one sec's Spanish App Store lists pro at €4.99 a month and €99.99 lifetime, plus a yearly plan. The website FAQ lists €3.99 a month and €99.99 lifetime, plus a yearly plan, and says prices differ by region. The two monthly figures do not match. The US App Store lists $6.99 a month, $19.99 a year and $99.99 lifetime. Family plans are separate: €7.99 a month, €24.99 a year and €179.00 lifetime on the Spanish store, and $9.99, $29.99 and $149 on the US store. The FAQ also lists a one-week trial of pro. Pay once, on one sec's account, and pro runs on your devices. Noff has no family tier and no second platform.
The privacy label is narrower on Noff. Data Not Collected, no account, no analytics SDK in the app, core flow offline. one sec's label is usage data not linked to you, with no tracking section. one sec says intervention logic runs on the device, there is no profiling and no selling of data, and usage data is yours offline or in a private cloud. That is a strong label. It is not the same sentence as Data Not Collected.
Where one sec is better
one sec is the wider net. A basic plan you don't pay for covers a breathing interruption for one app. The FAQ says there are no ads, including on that plan. Whether strict blocks require pro is not stated. iOS 15 or later is enough, which is older than Noff's iOS 16. Android has been there since 2023, the block feature on Android is marked Beta in the tutorials, and the Android minimum version is not stated. There is a Mac app and extensions for Chrome, Firefox, Safari and Edge.
You can interrupt or block apps, websites and categories such as Social Media, Games and News, and there is an adult-content filter. Blocks can be manual or recurring, with Focus filters, Shortcuts, and Control Center, Lock Screen and widget toggles. Noff's pages list none of the scheduling. Noff is the tag session.
Languages are not close. The Spanish listing has 31 codes, Catalan and Spanish among them. The website says 30 languages. Noff has English, Spanish and Catalan, and stops there. one sec cites peer-reviewed research on its own site, PNAS 2023 and CHI 2024. The rating base is large. Noff has far fewer reviews so far: the US listing does not show an average yet, and the Spanish listing has only a few ratings. If you wanted a nudge rather than a lock, one sec is the app that says so out loud.
How to start with Noff
- Get an NFC tag if you do not have one. NTAG213, 215 and 216 are safe choices. See recommended NFC tags.
- Install Noff, allow Screen Time, pair the tag, and pick the apps, categories or websites.
- Put the tag where the pause used to be. Another room beats a dialog you can tap through.
- Leave one sec's interventions off for those same apps once the session behaves, so you are not debugging two blocks.
Full setup: how to block apps on iPhone with an NFC tag. Other comparisons: Noff vs Brick, Noff vs Opal, Noff vs Bloom.
FAQ
Does one sec unlock with an NFC tag today?
No. The only NFC lock on its official pages is a roadmap item marked In Progress, dated 9 May 2025. Noff's unlock is an NFC tag you pair now.
Is Noff a pause?
No. During a Focus session the apps stay blocked until you tap the tag. one sec's main mechanism is the interruption before the app opens. It can also run a strict block.
What does one sec cost next to Noff?
Noff is €9.99 once, no subscription. one sec pro on the Spanish App Store is €4.99 a month or €99.99 lifetime, plus a yearly plan. The FAQ's monthly price is €3.99, not €4.99. Prices differ by region and can change.
Does one sec need an account?
Pro across devices uses the same account. Whether the basic plan needs an account on one phone is not stated. Noff does not require an account.
Which phones does each one support?
one sec supports iOS 15 or later, Android, Mac and desktop browsers. Noff is iPhone only, iOS 16 or later.
Sources
Checked 28 October 2026. Prices can change. - one sec home and the user review: one-sec.app - FAQ (starter plan, prices, trial, languages, privacy): one-sec.app/faq - Platforms: one-sec.app/platforms - Blocks and strict mode: tutorial - Schedules: tutorial - NFC roadmap: feature request and roadmap - App Store listings: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/one-sec-screen-time-focus/id1532875441 and https://apps.apple.com/es/app/one-sec-tiempo-pantalla-y-foco/id1532875441 - Noff: https://noff.app/ and https://noff.app/privacy - Noff App Store listing: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/noff/id6759967974 and https://apps.apple.com/es/app/noff/id6759967974